Centre Releases Rs 6000 crore for 14 states.

The Centre released Rs Rs 6195 crore to 14 states , for the third equated monthly instalment of the Post Devolution Revenue Deficit Grant as recommended by the 15th finance commission. Kerala received the highest amount, as Rs 1277 crore.

Whereas Himachal Pradesh and Punjab received Rs 952 crore and and Rs 638 crore respectively. It included Rs 417.75 crore to West Bengal as well
The Finance Minister, Nirmala Sitharaman said in a tweet that , ” This would provide them additional resources during the Corona crisis.”

The 14 states included for the Post Devolution Revenue Deficit Grant are :
1. Andhra Pradesh
2. Assam
3. Himachal Pradesh
4. Kerala
5. Manipur
6. Meghalaya
7. Mizoram
8. Nagaland
9. Punjab
10. Sikkim
11. Tamil Nadu
12. Tripura
13. Uttarakhand
14. West Bengal

The money granted is expected to be used by the states , to pay off the salaries of its employees , as already there was fall in tax collection , April onwards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *