Tamil Nadu gets a makeover, names of 1018 places changed

Tamil Nadu, amidst the coronavirus outbreak made a very surprising decision which no one must have thought of.

On Wednesday, the government of Tamil Nadu issued a notice to change the English spellings of 1018 places so as to match the pronunciation in Tamil.

New norms have come into force for writing Tamil place names in English in all the 37 revenue districts of Tamil Nadu, as announced in the state Assembly by minister for Tamil culture and Tamil development,  Mafoi K Pandiyarajan, back in 2018-19.

According to Tamil development Director G Vijayaraghavan, “A group of language experts, representatives of Tamil organisations and professors, along with government administrators finalised the names at the district level and later at the state level. It took almost two years.”

This decision was mainly made because many places seem to have different names  when written in English and Tamil. For instance, Triplicane in English and Thiruvallilkeni in Tamil.

After the order given by the government, committees have been set up in each district to look into the matter and make the required recommendations for changing the names.  1018, names have been identified by the committee which requires correction.

The actual proceeding of changing the names is entrusted upon the Revenue Department and Municipal Administration Department. 

 The government order is divided into four columns which includes 1018 names in Tamil, as they are pronounced in Tamil, the present English name and the suggested change in name respectively.

As per the new notification, Coimbatore will be called Koyampuththoor. Ambattur will henceforth be known as Ambaththoor.

‘Vepery’ of Madras will no longer pass muster. Henceforth, in English it has to be written as ‘Vepperi’, as the place name is pronounced in Tamil.  

 ‘Mylapore’ should henceforth be written in English as ‘Mayilaappoor’. Similarly, Egmore station is ‘Ezhumboor station’.

Below is a list of some of the names that have been changed:

Tondiyarpet – Thandaiyaarpettai

Purasawalkam – Purasaivaakkam

​Vepery – Vepperi

Perambur – Peramboor

VOC Nagar – Va.OO.Si. Nagar

Kodungaiyur – Kodungaiyoor

Peravallur – Peravalloor

Siruvallur – Siruvalloor

Konnur – Konnoor

Koyembedu – Koyambedu

Egmore – Ezhumboor

Chintadripet – Chintadaripettai

Triplicane – Thiruvallikkeni

Mylapore – Mayilaappoor

Thiruvanmiyur – Thiruvanmiyoor

Mambalam – Maambalam

Saidapet – Saithaappettai

Ekkattuthangal – Eekkattuththaangal

Guindy Park – Gindi Poongaa

Thiyagaraya Nagar – Thiyaagaraaya Nagar

Pallikaranai – Pallikkaranai

Okkiam Thorappakkam – Okkiyam Thuraipakkam

Sholinganallur – Solinganalloor

Uthandi – Uththandi

Mugalivakkam – Mugalivaakkam

Manappakkam – Manappaakkam

Alandur – Aalandhoor

Meenambakkam – Meenambaakkam

Porur – Poroor

Nanganallur – Nangainallur

Adambakkam – Aadhambaakkam

Ambattur – Ambaththoor

Thiruvottriyur – Thiruvotriyoor

Dharmapuri – Tharumapuri

Madavaram – Maathavaram

Dharapuram – Tharaapuram

Coimbatore – Koyampuththoor

Gudalur – Koodaloor

Puducherry – Puthucherry

Varagur – Varagoor

Talaivasal – Thalaivasal

Kandalur – Kaanthaloor

Thiruverambur – Thiruverumboor

Tuvagudi – Thuvakkudi

Manaparai – Manapparai

Chattrappatti – Chatthirappatti

Pudur – Puthoor

Uthamapalayam – Uthamapaalayam

Vellore – Veeloor

Pernambut – Peranaampattu

Vatalagundu – Vaththalakundu

Thiruvarur – Thiruvaroor

Muthupet – Muthuppettai

Tiruthuraipundi – Thirutthurai Poondi

Kudavasal – Kudavaasal

Nidamangalam – Needaamangalam

Orathanadu – Oratthanaadu

Kattur – Kaattoor

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *