The Supreme Court sends notice to four states for not implementing Ayushman Bharat scheme

The Supreme Court of India sent a legal notice to four states: Delhi, West Bengal, Odisha and Telangana for not implementing the Central Government approved “Ayushman Bharat scheme”.

The step was taken after a petition was filed on behalf of Perla Shekhar Rao by Hitendra Nath Rath and Shravan Kumar stating that the Central Government implemented this scheme with an annual budget of Rs 40 thousand crores and under this scheme, people are to avail treatment for all health problems including the treatment of coronavirus. But these four states have not implemented the scheme yet and because it poor people are suffering.

The three judge bench including Chief Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde will hear the petition after two weeks from today. The petition also mentioned that the States have acted against Articles 14 and 21 of the Indian Constitution by refusing implement this health scheme. Because of their inaction to implement the scheme, people are suffering and losing their hard earned money in private hospitals.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *